Skip to main content

School of Medicine Living Legends

Paul B. Roth, MD, MS, Chancellor for Health Sciences and Dean of the UNM School of Medicine, created the Living Legend award in 2009 to recognize extraordinary contributions to the University of New Mexico School of Medicine and the community. The Living Legend award recognizes a leader’s dedication, devotion and vision in helping us all achieve and advance our three primary missions:

  • Educating the next generation of health care professionals;
  • Providing state-of-the-art healthcare to everyone regardless of the ability to pay; and
  • Supporting cutting-edge research to find cures and treatments which will improve the quality of life for future generations.

Living Legend award recipients are honored at an invitational awards dinner hosted by Dr. Roth.


R. Philip Eaton, MD

2015: R. Philip Eaton, MD
Emeritus Executive Vice President for Health Sciences.

Diane Klepper, MD

2014: Diane Klepper, MD
Professor Emerita
School of Medicine assistant (later associate) dean for admissions and student affairs for 31 years.

Robert B. Loftfield, PhD

2013: Robert B. Loftfield, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry (1964-1989); Chair, Department of Biochemistry (1964-1971; 1978-1989)

Leonard M. Napolitano, PhD

2009: Leonard M. Napolitano, PhD
Dean, UNM School of Medicine (1972-1994)